Flying to the District: AWE 2037 – BOS to DCA

Originally I wanted to wait for my next flight until the weather conditions were allowing for a River Visual to runway 19 in DCA. But the winds just weren’t in my favor the past couple of days, so I went today. Sadly I got no River Visual, but instead a Mount Vernon Visual for runway 01. Not as thrilling as the River Visual, but at least you can see the National Mall ahead on Final too, so it was okay.

For today’s flight I jumped aboard an Airbus after a long time. I don’t know why, but I just don’t enjoy flying these things as much as I enjoy flying Boeings or MDs. Anyway, here we go. At the end of the virtual trip report, there will be some real world pictures from DC that I took when I lived there.

Photobucket

The routing will take us along the coast. We will also overfly Manhattan en-route. Take-off in Boston is on 4L, arrival in DC is on runway 01 via the Mt Vernon Visual.
Photobucket

Sitting at the US Airways gate in Boston.
Photobucket

The flight deck of the Airbus just looks so “sterile” in my opinion. But it offers a lot more space in reality, if you compare it to the 737NG Cockpit.
Photobucket

Boston’s skyline in the background.
Photobucket

We’re ready to go on 04L.
Photobucket

Turning left, downtown Boston can be seen.
Photobucket

Climbing.
Photobucket

I think this is one of the better looking Airbus-liveries out there.
Photobucket

Another angle of the flight deck.
Photobucket

We’re right above Manhattan at this point. You can see the location where Sully landed his US Airways A320 3 years ago on the Hudson.
Photobucket

Time to start our descent.
Photobucket

Closing in on DC. Somewhere over Chesapeake Bay.
Photobucket

Final for 01. For the last part of the Mt Vernon Visual you have to follow the Potomac until you reach the threshold of 01.
Photobucket

The approach plate for the Mt Vernon Visual. Compared to the more challenging River Visual it’s kind of boring 😉
Photobucket

The National Mall is straight ahead.
Photobucket

You can see the Washington Monument, the Jefferson Memorial and the Lincoln Memorial from here.
Photobucket

Back at the gate. Also a very nice view, including the US Capitol.
Photobucket

And shutdown complete. With the Blue or Yellow Metro lines it’s only about a 10-minute ride into downtown DC.
Photobucket

That’s the end of the virtual part. Here’s some real pictures from my favorite city.

A classic view from Capitol Hill down the National Mall.
Photobucket

The East side of the US Capitol.
Photobucket

Union Station. It’s one of the world’s largest train stations.
Photobucket

From the inside it looks more like a Palace. Beautiful building.
Photobucket

View from the Old Post Office Tower. Since the Washington Monument was closed due to the earthquake in August last year, this is about the best aerial view you can get of DC these days.
Photobucket

Reagan National Airport in the distance as seen from the Old Post Office Tower.
Photobucket

Washington Monument from up there.
Photobucket

Do I need to explain? North side of the White House.
Photobucket

Nationals Park. They played crap last year, but their performance is decent so far this season.
Photobucket

Redskins vs Cardinals. 2nd game of the NFL 11/12 season.
Photobucket

The National Air and Space Museum. This is the one on the National Mall. There is a much bigger outpost at the Udvar Hazy Center at Dulles Airport. That’s also where the Space Shuttle Discovery went.
Photobucket

Lindbergh’s Spirit of St. Louis.
Photobucket

And an aircraft carrier inside the Museum. It’s just the bridge though…
Photobucket

One of my Police ride alongs in a bad part of town.
Photobucket

View to the National Mall from Arlington, VA.
Photobucket

And the Iwo Jima Memorial.
Photobucket

Also in Rosslyn, VA is the local Boeing office.
Photobucket

The Monument at night with a nice reflection in the Tidal Basin, as seen from the new MLK Memorial.
Photobucket

NHL game – Capitals vs Ducks. It was a good game, Caps won.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Jefferson Memorial.
Photobucket

Lincoln Memorial.
Photobucket

And ol’ Abe in his chair.
Photobucket

Arlington Cemetery. Impressive!
Photobucket

The tomb of the unknown soldier.
Photobucket

I didn’t come to DC via DCA. I flew BA to Dulles. But I’ve been to DCA twice, very nice airport!
Photobucket

This CRJ is on the River Visual. In the background you can see the USAF Memorial to the left and the Pentagon is hidden by the trees.
Photobucket

That’s just a small selection of pictures. There is so much more to see in DC, I thought I’d just give you the usual tourist sites here… 😉

5 thoughts on “Flying to the District: AWE 2037 – BOS to DCA

  1. Nice as usual! These pics from DC make me think that I should use the FI service to Dulles soon… 😉
    Where are you headed next? More US domestics?
    Looking forward to whatever is next!
    cheers, Sveinn

  2. Thanks Sveinn. Yes, you should definitely go and see DC! It’s my absolute favorite city in the world. In the long term I wanna go back and stay there for good, once I’m done with my studying.
    In my opinion DC is not your typical US-city. Because no building is allowed to exceed a certain height, you won’t see any skyscrapers. Though, on the other side of the Potomac, in Virginia you have some medium-sized high-rise buildings. It has lots of European influence, especially if you go to Georgetown. And it is a very “green” city with lots of parks and Memorials.

    If you really decide to go there, just let me know and I might be able to give you some tips and info. On top of having lived there for a while, I interned with the official city bureau for tourism in DC, so I know my city quite well. Just avoid going East of the Capitol, that’s where the bad part of the town starts. 😉 You won’t notice it in the Western parts, but DC is one of the cities with the highest crime rate in the US. And never cross the Anacostia river, which is also East of the Capitol. You wouldn’t wanna end up there being lost…
    That’s where my Police ride alongs were and there’s some crazy shit going on there, haha.
    Apart from that, if you stay away from these parts, it’s a perfectly safe city and there is just soo much to see and experience. All the people that say the US doesn’t really have a history should go to DC and they would immediately shut up. There’s basically history on every corner.

    For now I will probably stay in the US and do some more domestic flying in the Sim. My next flight will maybe be with AA B738 to Miami, they have multiple daily flights like this in their schedule. I will return to DCA though, still wanna do that River Visual 😉
    Since I’ve already seen some 75 destinations in the US in the Sim over time, I probably will do some more flying to regional airports on E-Jets, the old ERJ’s, CRJ’s and so on. Atlantic City is still on my list of destinations, so that one might be among the next few destinations.

    • OK, sounds nice! I will definitely let you know if I decide to go to DC sometime. Look forward to the River Visual! My mom, brother and sister were in Florida when me and my dad were in the RTW trip. They connected via Washington on the way back from Florida. Flew TPA-DCA and took the River Visual on approach to Reagan. They then took a taxi over to Dulles and flew home on Icelandair.

    • While you’re flying US domestics, could you maybe fly to Sarasota, Florida (KSRQ) or Tampa, Florida (KTPA)? The 2 airports I always use when going to Florida!

Leave a Reply

