Nordic Expedition 3: SAS 4414/SAS 4425 – TOS to LYR to TOS

Welcome to this “extraordinary” flight report. First off, we’re going to the world’s northernmost airport with scheduled service – Longyearbyen in Spitsbergen.
Second, this is my first (and probably only) scheduled flight in FSX for a long time. Originally you were supposed to also find the return leg here, but when I shut down FSX I noticed that my screenshot-program wasn’t running on the flight back. Bummer…
So this is just the flight from Tromso To Longyearbyen now. The return leg was quite normal, nothing unusual.

I was bored the other day and I wasn’t in the mood to continue writing on my Bachelor Thesis, so I procrastinated a little bit and created a new flight info-graphic. Hope you like it. It contains more info and also shows the upcoming flights (the ones I planned so far) on the departure board.
Photobucket

The route was not really a route. It was straight up to Spitsbergen, the only way point en-route was “7417E”. Take-off in TOS was on 19, then we followed SID LOMVI3A and landed on ILS to 10 in LYR.
Photobucket

Say hello to the NGX and FSX.
Photobucket

Things I like about FSX: Crisp textures, a lot of autogen, very nice water, the NGX.
Photobucket

Things I don’t like about FSX: Performance, the fact that it feels like starting with a clean sheet compared to my pimped-up FS9, the fact that it’s not FS9 😉
Photobucket

Taxiing to 19.
Photobucket

Aligned and ready to roll.
Photobucket

Add this view to the list of likes about FSX.
Photobucket

Not exactly the best weather for sightseeing.
Photobucket

The NGX is great. Even though I really love my iFly for FS9 too. Biggest improvement are the incredibly detailed and high-res textures on the NGX.
Photobucket

REX sure looks good in FSX too.
Photobucket

Enjoying the VC.
Photobucket

And the nice exterior model.
Photobucket

Very detailed VC!
Photobucket

At this altitude I really have no issues with my FPS at all. Keep in mind that we’re flying over nothing but water right now.
Photobucket

Which looks great from this altitude btw.
Photobucket

This is pretty much the same seat I had on my last real flight. But then it said KLM on the winglet and it was a -700.
Photobucket

We’re closing in on Spitsbergen. It doesn’t get much further North than this.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Descending.
Photobucket

And it’s not far to the runway from here. There’s mountains and icebergs all around us. The terrain-function of the NGX really comes in handy here.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Runway in sight.
Photobucket

Especially as you get close to the ground you can see the advantage of FSX, compared to FS9.
Photobucket

Photobucket

I found this nice scenery of LYR. In FS9 the airport floated around in the landscape like crazy, one of the limitations of FS9 when you get closer to the poles.
Photobucket

Small airport.
Photobucket

Photobucket

I would really like to show you the flight back now, but as I said earlier, I messed it up and shut down the screenshot-program during the flights. So sorry, no flight back. Next flight will be from Tromso to Oslo Gardermoen. Back in good ‘ole FS9. It almost felt like cheating this time with FSX…

4 thoughts on “Nordic Expedition 3: SAS 4414/SAS 4425 – TOS to LYR to TOS

  1. Thanks Al! I thought about adding some real pictures from the departure/arrival cities and the aircraft in the info-boxes, but then it became too overloaded. So I think it’s fine as it is now, glad to see you like it.
    On this flight the FPS were fine, never went below 25. But throw in some traffic and a densely-populated area and I’m down in the 10-15 range. That’s why I flew back to Tromso. Did a test flight in Oslo earlier and it was “unflyable” there.
    Anyway, it’s usually fine when I just do some low and slow-flying, so probably I’m gonna use FSX for that in the future.

  2. Nice report as always! LYR is one of the very few places in the world where you can fly north from Iceland and land there 😉

    Looking forward for more! Hope you haven’t forgot my real world RTW… 😉

    cheers, Sveinn

Leave a Reply

