Nordic Expedition 1: KLC 1173 – AMS to TRD

I decided to go back to Norway and explore this beautiful country a little more. This is the itinerary I came up with:
Photobucket

As you can see, the first leg will be from Amsterdam to Trondheim (ENVA). From there on I will visit Bodo, Tromso and Longyearbyen on the island Svalbard (which is also the northernmost airport [78N] in the world with scheduled flights). From there I will fly down to Oslo, across the country to Stavanger and finally back to Amsterdam. This makes for some nice short flights, except for the one from Svalbard to Oslo.

First leg today was from Amsterdam to Trondheim on KLM Cityhopper Embraer 190. This was also my first scheduled flight with the E-Jets. I always liked those planes, but never took the time to understand them. I can fly Airbus, Boeing, MD-11, ATR, CRJ, Fokker and even the older EMB-jets. Of course most of them only in normal ops, but I know their systems and how to operate a regular flight with them.
The types I fly more often, like the 737NG, 747 and 767, I would say I know quite a lot about them. I have to say that I probably never had such difficulty in learning a new aircraft-type than with the E-Jets. Their design philosophy is completely different to anything I knew. Their Autopilot has so many different modes, the FMC is completely different to other aircraft and the systems are really something special. I took the time to read through a lot of pages in the operating manual and learned the systems while doing some test rounds in the sim. Today I finally felt ready for my first scheduled flight and I have to say that the E-Jets are lovely aircraft. Their degree of automation is something you have to get used to, but they are a joy to fly. And definitely the best product Wilco/Feelthere have ever released.

But now enough about the plane, let’s get started. ETD is 09:30 CET. We’re starting at the A-ramp in Amsterdam, that’s where all the KLM Cityhopper operations are handled.
Photobucket

The routing will take us towards the northern tip of Denmark and then pretty much straight through Norway up to Trondheim, which is the third most populous city in Norway. Take off in Amsterdam will be on 36R and we will land on runway 09 in Trondheim.
Photobucket

Say hello to PH-EZA. This will definitely not be my last flight on the E-Jets.
Photobucket

You can see the design philosophy behind the EMB 170/190 series when you take a look around the flight deck. Very structured, very sorted and clean. Only a few big displays. Even though the info on the screens can look a bit chaotic at first.
Photobucket

This aircraft is a nice addition to all the Boeings and Airbus out there. Very modern design.
Photobucket

Photobucket

We’re on our way to the runway.
Photobucket

And our first scheduled take off was a success! Everything went according to plan and checklists.
Photobucket

It payed off that I studied all the different Autopilot modes. Otherwise you wouldn’t be able to control this thing – other than flying it manually.
Photobucket

She’s kind of a slow climber. FL is 39,000 feet and we will need some time to reach this altitude.
Photobucket

As we’re getting closer to Norway the sky gets cloudy.
Photobucket

When I went to the lavatories I found this FA sitting in the cabin. She looks a little creepy if you ask me, more like a Zombie-FA… The real ones on my KLM Cityhopper flight from AMS to DUS were definitely better looking! πŸ˜‰
Photobucket

We’ve already broken through the clouds and are descending towards Trondheim.
Photobucket

The airport comes in sight. Now another exciting phase will start: Will I be able to land her safely?
Photobucket

So far it’s looking good.
Photobucket

Beautiful landscape, as everywhere in Norway.
Photobucket

Another critical moment. Until now the Autopilot was flying the ILS-approach. I wanted to see if I remembered all the tricks to get this thing to fly an ILS. It’s not as easy as in a Boeing or Airbus, you have to configure exactly the right modes on the Autopilot…and it has a lot of modes!
Photobucket

From now on I’m hand-flying this bird on final.
Photobucket

Still looking good, just about to touch down.
Photobucket

We made it! The first successful scheduled flight on the E-Jets. I’m a little proud of myself. The landing was a little bit hard, but still within limits. Not bad for the first one (apart from the Touch-and-Go’s during practice).
Photobucket

On our way to the terminal. This Atlas Air B747F seems to be a good way to transport freight to this remote city.
Photobucket

And here we are. Next to this SAS 737 at Trondheim Lufthavn!
Photobucket

Thanks for reading! The next leg will be on SAS 737-700 to Bodo, further up North.

9 thoughts on “Nordic Expedition 1: KLC 1173 – AMS to TRD

  1. PASS! I’ll take a Boeing thanks!! πŸ˜€

    Kidding aside, great report as always. I NEVER fly my EJets Max, just hooked too bad on Boeings I guess (and that MD11, I seen another today at CYYZ on the FedEx ramp).

    The Norway flights sounds like a great idea. Got to get motivated here and do some sim flying myself!

  2. Haha! I’m a Boeing-man through and through, and like you I also have a soft spot for the MD-11. Sadly there’s a lot of thin routes to smaller cities that can only be reached with RJ’s. And even though it’s a flying computer, the E-Jets are nice to fly – occasionally of course. I could never live without my Boeing’s!!! πŸ˜‰
    I get excited every time I see an MD-11 at a real airport. Last November I was driving past Newark airport and could see the FedEx-ramp. They had an MD-11, a DC-10 and a B727 next to each other. That made my day.

  3. Nice report as always! The E-Jets are my favorite aircraft along with the mighty tripleseven, the E190 and the 777-300ER are the best looking aircraft out there! (IMO of course πŸ˜‰ )
    That Nordic itinerary looks nice. As I write, my dad just has landed in Gardermoen on SK 4788 from Keflavik, Iceland operated by a SAS 737-800. I envy him so much!

    Regards, Sveinn

    • Thanks Sveinn! I also think the E190 is a good-looking plane. But there’s many other aircraft that come first in my Top-list πŸ˜‰
      I understand your envy, I wanna go an see Oslo as well in the future. All my friends from Bergen want to move to there anyway, so probably I can just visit them there some time, haha.

  4. He is actually flying Keflavik-Oslo-Geneva-Prague-Warsaw-Moscow-Dubai-Bahrain-Abu Dhabi-London-Keflavik with a stop at every place for business…I’m so jealous! GVA-PRG is on a private jet! Hope I’ll be able to fly like this in the future…

Leave a Reply

