Nordic Flying: KLM 1185 – AMS to BGO

Welcome to a new flight! Today’s flight has a special meaning to me, as I was on that exact same real flight 11 days ago. We’re going from Amsterdam to Bergen, Norway. Bergen is the second-largest city in Norway with a population of around 390,000. It’s located on the West coast of Norway, West and a little North of Oslo. I went there to visit some friends I met when studying in the USA and I can only recommend you to visit this nice city. There’s some “real” pictures from Bergen at the end of this post, in case you’re interested. I apologize in advance for the large amount of pictures in this post. I hope you have a broadband internet connection… 😉

Now let’s get started. ETD ist 08:40 am CET. Equipment will be a Boeing 737-700 from KLM. There’s gonna be quite a few exterior shots this time, as I find KLM’s livery to be one of the best looking liveries on any plane out there. We’re flying on PH-BGI, my real flight was on PH-BGO.
Photobucket

Take-off in Amsterdam will be from runway 06. We actually took off from runway 24 11 days ago, which is the same runway, only the opposite end. Then we will follow SID ANDIK1T towards the North Sea and soon reach the shore. We’ll then head North, first a little towards the UK, later towards Norway. Before landing on runway 17 in Bergen (my real flight landed on 35 and also took off from 35), we will only overfly the North Sea. Weather in Amsterdam will be rainy with decreased visibility, in Bergen it will also be rainy and we’ll have a relatively strong headwind of 16 kts during final. The routing might look a little weird, but actually this is pretty much the routing my real flight took too.
Photobucket

Now let’s get started. We’re at gate C5 in Schiphol. I was sitting at gate C7 right next to this for the real deal. I connected from Dusseldorf, coming in with the 06:00 am flight on Fokker 70.
Photobucket

Push back. I love the KLM livery! It also was a great airline to fly on. They served juice and cookies on the 30 minute flight from DUS to AMS (literally the shortest flight I’ve ever been on) and breakfast on the leg to Norway. Good service, friendly crew!
Photobucket

We’re taxiing to the active. Getting around in Schiphol can actually take longer than your flight. We arrived on the Polderbaan from Dusseldorf and the taxi from there to our gate took some 15 minutes. This time we’re lucky and from C5 to runway 06 it’s not that far.
Photobucket

We’re at the holding point. There’s a few other planes in front of us, which will delay our departure by 5 minutes.
Photobucket

While this KLM Cityhopper Fokker 50 just rotates in front of us, we’re next in line and cleared to hold in position.
Photobucket

Aligned on 06 and ready to go North!
Photobucket

We’re airborne!
Photobucket

Everything’s blue in Schiphol. I really enjoyed flying through this airport. Even though there were blue skies when I flew from there…
Photobucket

This is the ramp for all the KLM Cityhopper flights.
Photobucket

We’re already entering the low-hanging clouds.
Photobucket

Photobucket

And blue skies ahead. In my opinion one of the best-looking 737-700 liveries out there. But then again, I’m a huge fan of anything in the KLM livery.
Photobucket

We’re en-route to Norway. Cruising altitude is 39,000 feet.
Photobucket

Photobucket

A British Airways B767 is crossing our flight path. The TCAS alert was not necessary though, we had visual.
Photobucket

On our way.
Photobucket

Photobucket

We’re descending already.
Photobucket

Blue in blue.
Photobucket

The world from the F/O-seat.
Photobucket

And back into nasty weather. This is actually pretty close to the real weather I had when arriving in Bergen. But on departure there was not a single cloud hanging in the sky and I caught a sunburn that day…
Photobucket

Photobucket

Landing lights are on, which means we’re below 10,000 feet.
Photobucket

There’s a lot of small islands around the coast at Bergen. We’re closing in, coming from the North this time.
Photobucket

Turning on interception course.
Photobucket

More land.
Photobucket

So much water around here!
Photobucket

And through the clouds you can see a little bit of the ground.
Photobucket

Runway in sight!
Photobucket

Gear down, Glide Slope alive.
Photobucket

Somewhere to our left is the city of Bergen. Bergen is surrounded by 7 mountains. I’ve been on one of them, stunning view from up there!
Photobucket

Final for 17.
Photobucket

Photobucket

16 kts headwind is quite a bit.
Photobucket

On short final. They have yellow runway markers here, because of all the snow in the winter.
Photobucket

Decision height.
Photobucket

Only seconds from touchdown.
Photobucket

Reverser active, Spoilers deployed and some braking action to slow our bird down.
Photobucket

We’re gonna take the next taxiway to our left to vacate the runway.
Photobucket

There’s also a huge Heli-base in Bergen. Saw some nice Heli-action after Boarding.
Photobucket

That’s the whole terminal at “Bergen Lufthavn Flesland”, the Norwegian name of the airport.
Photobucket

We’re taxiing in to Gate 24. Departed from this gate on the real flight back.
Photobucket

And the obligatory tail-shot…
Photobucket

Now let’s get some salmon. You can get awesome fish here. But the beer is frickin’ expensive!! 32 dollars for a six-pack of Bud. I was shocked! But since Norway is one of the richest countries in the world, they all earn enough to pay for that.
Photobucket

That’s the end of the virtual report. Here are a few pictures from the real flight KLM 1185, Bergen, and the flight back on KLM 1190 – the next flight I’m gonna do in the sim.

After boarding on PH-BGO at gate C7. Perfect flying weather in Amsterdam.
Photobucket

Descending into Bergen, the weather is a little worse here than in Amsterdam.
Photobucket

My first glimpse of Norway. Stunning landscape all around! Sadly the clouds were blocking the view.
Photobucket

Vacating the runway after landing on 35.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Yes, that’s pretty much the area outside of the terminal. Small but nice. I took the bus to the city, was around 10 dollars.
Photobucket

Now some pictures of the city. Let’s start with the fish market. Yummy!
Photobucket

Furs, anybody?
Photobucket

The harbor.
Photobucket

Some random shots of the city now.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Fancy McDonalds!
Photobucket

This street row is very famous and UNESCO world heritage.
Photobucket

The next day we went onto one of the surrounding mountains. Fantastic view from up here.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

And since this was a USA-reunion, what would be more American than Mountain Dew, Bud and Top Gun on DVD??!
Photobucket

The last day was beautiful! I didn’t want to leave. Bergen is kind of a small city, but very charming. I enjoyed it there and had a really good time.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

This hair dresser has a good sense of humor – great name!
Photobucket

Now the flight back. View from the boarding area in Bergen.
Photobucket

We flew along the Norwegian coast for a long time, which offered me some breathtaking views onto the landscape.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

This is the city of Stavanger on this peninsula-ish landmass.
Photobucket

Another highlight: During approach into Amsterdam this KLM B747-400 was approaching parallel with us. Could see him lower the gear mid-air, I was happy like a child on Christmas…
Photobucket

After landing another Singapore Cargo 747F passed us. I love Schiphol.
Photobucket

Partly because they have a “terminal park”. You can go outside while waiting on your connection and watch the apron or chill in this garden on the roof of the terminal.
Photobucket

And enjoy this view.
Photobucket

And this is really the end for today. A last shot from the gate while waiting on my connection back to DUS.
Photobucket

Thanks for reading today’s mixed report. Hope you enjoyed it!

10 thoughts on “Nordic Flying: KLM 1185 – AMS to BGO

  1. The sim shots are awesome but the real deals are even better! Always loved ENBR in the sim and would love to see it in real life. When I fly some place in real life that I have never been to before I always feel like I have been there before due to the sim.

    Awesome shit!

  2. Thanks Al, appreciate it! Bergen is a great place to be. If you ever get the chance to visit Norway, go for it. The people are really nice and the landscape is just breathtaking. Also I’ve never breathed such clean air, but you’re from Canada, so probably you have…
    But make sure to bring your own beer, I almost ended up taking out a loan for it, haha. Originally I wanted to fly there in the sim before the real flight, but this way it’s even better because it brought back all the memories. Sadly my Digital Aviation Fokker has problems with Windows 7, so I couldn’t fly the leg from DUS to AMS in the sim…

  3. BTW, I live in Toronto (the largest Canadian city with 4 million +) and we are 30 miles across the lake from NY state, I have had my share of dirty air too Max! I really love that you included the real deal shots. Made the post that much better!

    • There is some sort of incompatibility with the Win7-architecture and the Fokker. So I get an average of 3 FPS in the 2D-Cockpit (as sadly there is no VC). They released a patch for this, so I have no FPS-issues anymore, but then I have other issues like FS freezing, CTD and so on. So I have the choice between 3 FPS and CTD’s. It it might be that your system deals with it just fine, after the patch though.

      I guess you still enjoy better air than where I currently live. I’m in the outskirts of the Ruhr-Area. Second biggest Metro area in Europe with over 12 million people, after London. And probably one of the most industrialized areas in the world too. Also Germany is smaller in landmass than Norway, but has nearly a population of 82 million, compared to 5 million in Norway.
      At least you can drive into the wild Canadian nature, there is not really a lot of that left in Central Europe… 😉

  4. I U.S. publication (USA Today I think) recently credited Iceland Air as being one of the best airlines in the world (along with Turkish Airlines and a regional carrier here in Toronto called Porter). In the warmer months Iceland Air makes the trip to CYYZ. I got a great shot of TF-FIX landing in the sunset a couple years back. I too gotta make a trip to BIKF in the sim soon…

Leave a Reply

