Discovering Alaska Volume 5: CON 132 – SSC to ANC

I’m back. After getting a new Hard drive last week and reinstalling everything, I made my first flight with the new-old FS9 today. Obviously you can’t reinstall hundreds of sceneries and so on in a few days, so I tried to concentrate on a good basis to build on. I’ll just install all the sceneries again as I go there in FS. Even though I thought I thought of everything, I encountered some weird problems during my flight. ATC cancelled my filed IFR flight plan after EVERY frequency change with the words “You have exceeded your clearance void time. IFR flight plan is cancelled.”
I have never ever heard of such thing and even Google didn’t find this error. My suspect is some ATC dll-file or maybe the EditVoicepack installation I did. Another weird thing was that all my headings were off by 4 to 5 degrees. I know that the magnetic field of the earth changes and the FS data is pretty outdated. Nevertheless I never had more than 1 or 2 degrees deviation before. Hopefully I will find the root of that error too.

Anyway it was great to fly again. My FS looked completely different too, as the fresh installation worked wonders and I had a cleaned up texture-folder again. I discovered the beauty of REX Overdrive for FS9, which was only working partially in the old installation. The result are much much more powerful colors. So another new thing is that there is not a single edited picture in my report today. Before I changed the saturation and color sometimes, this time it’s all straight out of the Sim.

Last week we flew all the way up north to Deadhorse at the northern tip of Alaska. Today I took a trip back to Anchorage. Since I didn’t enjoy flying the Classic 737 too much, I found an NG flight between those two airports. It’s on ConocoPhillips / BP Aviation, also known as Continental Oil. They operate a Boeing 737-700, ex AirTran, for their Oil business between different Alaskan cities. No repaint was available, so I practiced my very little repaint experience and created one for N959BP. If you want this repaint for your Ifly, just shoot me a message via this site or post a comment and I’ll send it to you.

Here’s the flight info for today.
Photobucket

The route will take us from runway 04 in Deadhorse almost straight into Anchorage, where we will land on runway 14. This time without ATC, as I wasn’t able to perform an approach when I had to refile my flight plan every 60 seconds and got different instructions every time.
Photobucket

Back in the saddle of the NG. Cold and dark, but this time it’s only -9.4F outside.
Photobucket

Examining my paint-job on N959BP.
Photobucket

The visibility could be better. It’s only 3 miles.
Photobucket

Lined up and ready to go on 04. Same same but different, my FS has a new look.
Photobucket

Photobucket

After take-off we enter the clouds soon.
Photobucket

But we’re rewarded with blue skies shortly after.
Photobucket

And they are really, really blue!
Photobucket

For my first real paint-job I am satisfied with my work.
Photobucket

The icy desert below us.
Photobucket

No need for post color-saturation anymore.
Photobucket

You don’t wanna strand here.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Not too much going on during this flight. Except for the little software problems we encountered… Now we’re descending into Anchorage.
Photobucket

On final for 14. Which is shown as 15…weird magnetic deviation.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Gear down and we’re almost there.
Photobucket

Short final.
Photobucket

Taxiing to our gate while this UPS MD-11F is landing on 07R.
Photobucket

Time for our ConocoPhillips employees to deboard. And time for us to enjoy our last layover in Anchorage for some time. After all those flights in Alaska it’s time to see some other parts of the world next.
Photobucket

It took me hours to paint this easy scheme onto her and I only used her for one flight…but this way I didn’t have to fly the 737-400 again!
Photobucket

That’s the end of today’s flight report. Thanks for reading. I hope you enjoyed and like the new look of my FS. I still have a lot of work to do and fix all the technical issues with my FS, before I continue to my next destination Juneau, AS. After that we will go back to Continental US and then we will see. Maybe some flying in Europe and then South America or something like that…

Update: I just found out that they changed ANC’s runway 14 to 15 in reality last month. Also they changed the runway in Deadhorse from 04 to 05. What a coincidence that my departure and arrival airport had such changes recently. Since this was only reflected in the last AIRAC cycle update, I didn’t see it when I flew the last time with the 1202 Airac…one problem solved at least!

Update 2: It seems I found the cause for the ATC problem too. Because Deadhorse is an uncontrolled airfield, they gave me a clearance that was void 30 minutes from request. Somehow I must have exceeded that time or whatever and they cancelled my flight plan. Weird enough that it got cancelled every time I switched frequencies after that. Funny, how all the problems during this flight were because of something not related to my new installation…

Leave a Reply

