CPA 3272 Leg 3 – AMS to DXB

Okay, you had it coming! It’s that time again, our next leg on the RTW-Tour is waiting. Having just arrived in Amsterdam, we didn’t have much time to enjoy the city – duty was calling. Cargo out, Cargo in, add some Fuel and off we go from chilly Good Old Europe to hot and dusty Dubai. I know, I know, the last leg from Chicago would bring me over my maximum allowed duty time and I’m not allowed to fly so soon again. Well, you know how it is…I was just travelling in the Jumpseat, honestly! And every once in a while I got to push some buttons. And it’s definitely not my fault when the Captain gets trapped inside the lavatory and I have to land that darn thing, you know…

Okay, let’s start with the flight info
Photobucket

The Cargo today is 111 tons of tulips, gouda and some pallets full of Euro-Bills. That stuff is becoming worthless anyway and some superrich Dubai-Sheikh wanted to wallpaper his palace with it, so who cares.

After Take-Off from runway 06, we will follow SID ARNEM2R towards Arnhem on a slight turn to the right. It’s not gonna be long until we cross the German border and fly through Westphalia, some 30 miles North of Dusseldorf and the Ruhr-Area. Our route will then take us via Leipzig in Eastern Germany into the Czech Republic, a little North of Prague. We continue through Slovakia, Romania and fly over the Black Sea before we cross Turkey. For about 5 minutes we will fly through Syrian airspace and then on to Iraq, where we will pass Baghdad and reach the Persian Gulf over Basrah. Before landing in Dubai, the route will lead us pretty much over the middle of the Persian Gulf, with Iran to our left and Saudi-Arabia to the right. ATC will then clear us for a beautiful ILS Approach into RWY 12L. This will give us the opportunity to get a stunning view of Dubai’s Skyline, with the Burj Dubai – currently highest Building in the world.
Cruise Altitude will be FL 350 and our ETD is 01:20 pm CET.
Photobucket

As it is very chilly outside and below freezing point, we decided to request de-icing before we get pushed back
Photobucket

The powerful pushback-truck is ready to go
Photobucket

Ready to go on RWY 06, clear skies today in the Netherlands
Photobucket

At 165 kts the FO called out rotate and the Captain lifted this gracious bird into the skies with a little pull on his yoke. Like I said, I was only riding the Jumpseat and observing, you don’t believe me?!
Photobucket

Picture LAX-Style Baby!
Photobucket

Leaving Amsterdam. Don’t worry, I’ll be back
Photobucket

And shortly after we retracted the gear downtown Amsterdam comes in sight with all its little town canals, bridges and even a big Cruise Ship at the horizon. They are not very popular in Europe at the moment for some reason…
Photobucket

As we follow the SID on a right turn, we pass by the stadium of Ajax Amsterdam. I was kinda disappointed there was no match going on at the time
Photobucket

The beautiful Dutch landscape with all its waterways
Photobucket

After 12 minutes into the flight, we already passed by some 30 miles North of Dusseldorf and the Ruhr Area. Inbetween EDDL and our flightpath lies my hometown
Photobucket

My old man just happened to take pictures of planes passing by with a zoom lens while driving in his car. Such a coincidence he got our flight in the frame
Photobucket

The winter in Eastern Europe is crazy cold this year! Just passing over the Czech military airport of LKPD (Pardubice). And yes, I had to google that. Never heard of this place before.
Photobucket

We made it into Romanian airspace and enjoy the nice looking countryside with its little hills from FL350
Photobucket

As soon as we reach the Black Sea, the sun begins to set
Photobucket

See, I told you I was riding in the back. And no, that was not on my way to manipulate the lock on the lavatories…
Photobucket

Catching the last sunrays of the day
Photobucket

Photobucket

And there we go. You can see the stars come out
Photobucket

There is not much to see from now on. This picture was taken somewhere over Iraq
Photobucket

Some 200 miles out of DXB over the Persian Gulf, we caught up with UAE106 Heavy. This tiny A332, enroute from Athens to Dubai, didn’t stand a chance against our B747 and we let him eat our dust soon enough
Photobucket

Now that’s what I’m talkin’ bout! Demonstrating my Multi-Tasking skills and taking a photo of the breathtaking Dubai skyline at night, while turning this little bird into the localizer. At the same time the Captain on duty is locked in the lavatory. They are so lucky that I happened to be on that flight!
Photobucket

And voilà! Gliding down that ILS into RWY 12L
Photobucket

Photobucket

Seconds before our wheels touch the runway, some bored worker on the Northern cargoramp took this
Photobucket

Before crossing RWY 12R, we have to wait for this Qatar Airways B77W that just landed to clear the runway
Photobucket

The plane taxiing ahead of us is a KLM B777 that left Amsterdam shortly after us and arrived with us here
Photobucket

Let’s call it a day, shall we? Parking on the cargo ramp in Dubai and leaving the Silver Bullet
Photobucket

Thanks for taking the time to digest my flightreport. We’re already halfway through now on the Round-the-World Tour. Stay tuned for the next leg from DXB back to Cathays hood in Hong Kong.

4 thoughts on “CPA 3272 Leg 3 – AMS to DXB

  1. Love the cockpit grabs! I have been blogging about my sim flying for a few years now and I love the idea of showing the Jepp map there. Might have to add that to my reports as well…..

    Keep up the great work.

    • Thanks! I gladly return the compliment for your blog. The header image is just great, it doesn’t get any better than a ’47 into Kai Tak!
      If only my FSX would run like yours. I can’t get it to run smoothly except in out-of-the-box mode. Must be fun to fly the NGX and enjoy the graphics that still beat my up-to-the-limit FS9. Nice Basecap btw, Go Giants haha

  2. Haha, I picked that up in San Fran in 09. That shot was taken last spring sitting on the ramp at KLAX. Yeah I had a love hate with FSX for the longest time. Pete Dowson fixed much of the stability issues with his latest FSUIPC.

    I think your version of FS9 looks awesome! I only took on FSX due to the stuff not available for FS9 (like ORBX scenery and of course the NGX). The NGX was fianlly swayed me over.

    Would love to add a perma link on my blog to yours here if that is ok with you.

    • Yea, of course! I’d be honored to. I added your blog to my links as well.
      Right now I have everything I need in FS9. But as soon as PMDG releases the B777 for FSX, I will be very tempted to switch…

Leave a Reply

